ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A Stated General Meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 12th January 2011 at 10.30 a.m. in the Senior Common Room.

- Present: The President, Professor M. R. Freedland, Mr. N. Purcell, Professor K. P. Tod, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Professor R.G. Compton, Dr. I. J. Sobey, Professor S.J.Whittaker, Professor A. Grafen, Dr. A. R. Weidberg, Professor A. J. Parker, Professor F.A. Armstrong, The Revd. Dr. E. D. H. Carmichael, Professor P.P. Craig, Professor G. J. H. van Gelder, Professor Z. Molnár, Dr. M. Cannon, Professor K. Nation, Dr. C. A. Larrington, Dr. A. Hills, Dr. R.M. Harding, Dr. H. Bouman, Dr. A. Wright, Dr. A. Starinets, Dr. T. Burt de Perera, Dr. J. Snicker, Ms. S. Layburn, Dr. M-S. Omri, Dr. H. Skoda, Dr. N. Lübecker.
- Apologies: Professor G.W.J. Fleet, Professor W. Mattli, Professor L.M. McDowell, Professor P. Maini, Dr. M. Stokes, Dr. J. Schnell, Dr. C. Jeffrey,

AGENDA 'B'

ACTION

1. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 1st December 2010 were approved.

2. Financial Report - College Accounts for year ended 31st July 2010

The Bursar and Finance Bursar made a formal presentation of the Accounts to Governing Body, noting that they had been discussed at meetings last term.

The Bursar announced that the College had now succeed with its application to register with the Charity Commission as a registered charity with the name "Saint John Baptist College in the University of Oxford". Our charity number is 1139733. This change does not alter or affect the role or purpose of the College as an educational charity; nor does it affect the tax-status of the College for charitable purposes.

It was noted that from next year, in order to meet the expectations of the Charity Commission, the Financial Report would need to include a section on charitable benefits, as well as a change to the accounting format. Progress will be reported to the Finance Committee.

The President thanked various individuals for their help in the Charity Registration process.

It was reported that the current position is that the College will not be required to publish the names of its Trustees. It was noted the College website carries the names of Governing Body members signifying that they are also Trustees of the College

3. Statutes Committee - new By-Law concerning Emoluments Committee

Professor Freedland (Statutes Officer) introduced this item. The proposed By-Law XIX concerning Emoluments Committee, after amendment to the wording, was agreed.

- The existing By-Law XIX was withdrawn and following new By-Law XIX was inserted in its place:
- " There shall be an Emoluments Committee the members of which shall consist of five persons external to the College (not being the President, members of Governing Body in any category or other employees of the College). The President, the Principal Bursar (who shall be secretary of the committee) and the Finance Bursar shall be entitled to attend all meetings and address the committee but not to vote. One of the members of the Committee shall be appointed to act as Chair for the Committee. No member of the Committee shall serve for more than five years.

It shall be the business of this Committee to determine, subject to the provisions of the statutes, the stipends and allowances of the President, College Officers, Fellows and Lecturers. In receiving the recommendations of this Committee, the Governing Body may choose to accept recommendations without modification or, subject to information about the financial circumstances of the College or other good cause, to determine levels of stipends and allowances lower than those recommended by the Committee."

Suggestions were invited for names of five external members of Emoluments Committee.

ACTION: PRINCIPAL BURSAR, STATUTES OFFICER

4 Hilary Term Calendar

The Hilary Term Calendar was accepted.

5. <u>Conference of Colleges</u>

The unconfirmed minutes of the meeting held on 7th December 2010 were received